National Medals Awarded to Kushner and Deavere Smith

Friday, Jul 12, 2013

Earlier this week President Obama presented Tisch School of the Arts alumnus Tony Kushner (MFA, 84) with the National Medal of Arts and University Professor of Performance Studies Anna Deavere Smith with the National Humanities Medal. The National Medal of Arts is the highest award given to artists and arts patrons by the United States Government. It is awarded by the President of the United States to individuals or groups who "are deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to the excellence, growth, support and availability of the arts in the United States." The National Humanities Medal, inaugurated in 1997, honors individuals or groups whose work has deepened the nation's understanding of the humanities, broadened our citizens' engagement with the humanities, or helped preserve and expand Americans' access to important resources in the humanities. Learn more about the medals and the full list of recipients on The White House Blog.