Our program mentors young artists in the traditions and innovations of an evolving media landscape that is deeply rooted in visual storytelling.

Together, our faculty, staff, and students create more than 5,000 films per year.  

Since 1965, our program has had a significant impact on the cultural and artistic landscape. Notable graduates include directors Chris Columbus (Rent, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Night at the Museum), Melina Matsoukas (Beyoncé's LemonadeMaster of None), Ryan Fleck (Captain Marvel) and Jon Watts (Spiderman: Homecoming); editor Sally Menke (Pulp Fiction); independent filmmakers Alfonso Gomez-Rejon (Me and Earl and the Dying Girl) and Joel Coen (No Country for Old Men); cinematographers Rachel Morrison (MudboundBlack Panther), Reed Morano (Frozen River, Director: The Handmaid's Tale, Cinematographer: Beyoncé's Lemonade), and Ernest Dickerson (Do the Right Thing); TV writer/producers Vince Gilligan (Breaking Bad), Damon Lindelof (Lost) and Emily Whitesell (Homicide: Life on the Street), documentarians Nanette Burstein (American Teen) and Morgan Spurlock (Super Size Me), experimental filmmaker George Von Steiner and Pixar Studios animation artists Alex Woo and Andrew Coats.

Our students are part of a community of young, passionate artists who grow together, support each other & succeed together. Our credo is learning by doing. Students are actively creating work and encouraged to take risks as they discover their own individual voices. Students leave the program having developed an excellence in their craft and a strong conviction in the unique stories they have to tell.

Photo of UGFTV Chair Ezra Sacks

Ezra Sacks

Chair, Undergraduate Film & Television