GMTWP Alum Michael R. Jackson Winner of NY Drama Critics' Circle Award

Friday, May 1, 2020

A Strange Loop

Larry Owens (center) in ‘A Strange Loop’ by GMTWP Alum Michael R. Jackson (Photo: Joan Marcus)

GMTWP Alum Michael R. Jackson (Cycle 14) was named the winner of the 2019-20 New York Drama Critics' Circle Award for Best Musical.

The New York Drama Critics’ Circle met via video conference this week to determine the winners of its 85th annual awards.

The New York Drama Critics’ Circle comprises 20 drama critics from daily newspapers, magazines, wire services, and websites based in the New York metropolitan area.

Adam Feldman, theatre critic and editor for Time Out New York, has served as president of the NYDCC since 2005. Joe Dziemianowicz serves as vice president; Zachary Stewart is treasurer. The other members are David Cote, Vinson Cunningham, David Finkle, Jeremy Gerard, Charles Isherwood, Chris Jones, Christopher Kelly, David Rooney, Frank Scheck, Alexandra Schwartz, Helen Shaw, David Sheward, Marilyn Stasio, Terry Teachout, Elisabeth Vincentelli, and Matt Windman.

Emeritus members include Melissa Rose Bernardo, Michael Feingold, Robert Feldberg, Elysa Gardner, Brian Scott Lipton, Jesse Oxfeld, Michael Sommers, Steven Suskin, Linda Winer, and Richard Zoglin.