GMTWP Alum Michael R. Jackson Wins Pulitzer

Monday, May 4, 2020

Michael R. Jackson

Michael R. Jackson (Cycle 14)

GMTWP Alum Michael R. Jackson (Cycle 14) was named the winner of the 2020 Pulitzer Prize for Drama for his new musical A Strange Loop.

A Strange Loop had its world premiere last year at Playwrights Horizons in a co-production with Page 73. 

In addition to the Pulitzer, the musical received the 2019-20 New York Drama Critics' Circle Award for Best Musical  and was nominated for the Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Musical (winning two Lucille Lortel Awards for actors Larry Owens and John-Andrew Morrison). The production also recieved six Drama Desk Award nominations.

The show is scheduled to play at D.C.’s Woolly Mammoth theatre in the fall. The original cast album is now available from Yellow Sound Label.