GMTWP Alum Daniel Messe Recipient of Kleban Prize

Thursday, Jan 23, 2020

Daniel Messe

Daniel Messé (Cycle 5)

GMTWP alum Daniel Messé (Cycle 5) was selected as one of the winners of the 30th annual Kleban Prize for Musical Theatre. The 2020 prizes will be presented February 3 in a private ceremony.

Messé, who won most promising musical theatre lyricist, scored the Public Theater’s 2009 Shakespeare in the Park production of Twelfth Night, starring Anne Hathaway and Audra McDonald. He made his Broadway debut with the stage adaptation of Amélie, featuring music by Messé, lyrics by Nathan Tysen and Messé, and a book by Craig Lucas. He’s currently working with co-lyricist Sean Hartley on adapting Lucas’ play Prelude to a Kiss for South Coast Repertory and developing a new theatrical song cycle inspired by Twain’s Huck Finn entitled You Don’t Know About Me Without You.

The trio of Tony Award-winning judges making the final determination this year were Forbidden Broadway creator-director-writer Gerard Alessandrini, actor-director Victoria Clark (Light in the PiazzaCinderella), and producer Robyn Goodman (Avenue QIn The Heights).

The Kleban Foundation was established in 1988 under the will of Edward L. Kleban, best known as the Tony- and Pulitzer Prize-winning lyricist of the musical A Chorus Line. Kleban's will made provisions for annual prizes, which in recent years have totaled $100,000 each, payable over two years, to be given to the most promising lyricist and librettist in American Musical Theatre.