Marie Dvorakova & Kevin Wilson, Jr. Win Student Academy Awards

Thursday, Sep 14, 2017

Still from "My Nephew Emmett"- Photo Courtesy of Kevin Wilson Jr.

Three students from the Kanbar Institute of Film and Television in the Tisch School of the Arts at New York University were among 17 winners of the 44th Student Academy Awards competition, the Academy announced on Wednesday, September 13.

Awardees were selected among a total of 1,587 entries from 267 domestic and 89 international colleges and universities.  No other school matched the number of awards won by students from Tisch.    

On October 12 at the Student Academy Awards ceremony at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills, the gold, silver and bronze level winners will be announced for each category.

Grad Film's Kevin Wilson, Jr. (MFA, ’18) and Marie Dvorakova (MFA, ’16) are two of three winners in the Domestic Narrative category for their films "My Nephew Emmett" and "Who’s Who in Mycology," respectively.

The Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 to provide a platform for emerging global talent. All Student Academy Award-winning films are eligible to compete for Oscars.  Past winners have gone on to receive 57 Oscar nominations and have won or shared 11 awards. Past Student Academy Award winners have included NYU alumni Cary Fukunaga and Spike Lee, as well as Patricia Cardoso, Pete Docter, John Lasseter, Trey Parker, and Robert Zemeckis.

Visit here for a full list of 2017 Student Academy Award winners.