GMTW Alumni Win 2020 Fred Ebb Awards

Wednesday, Nov 18, 2020

The 16th annual Fred Ebb Awards were announced on November 10, 2020, and we are thrilled to congratulate the winners, all of whom are Tisch alumni!

Congratulations to Pulitzer Prize winner Michael R. Jackson '03 (BFA, Goldberg Department of Dramatic Writing)/'05 (MFA, Graduate Musical Theatre Writing) (A Strange Loop, White Girl in Danger) and the team of Ben Bonnema '12 (MFA, Graduate Musical Theatre Writing) and Christopher Staskel '12 (MFA, Graduate Musical Theatre Writing) (One Way).

The Fred Ebb Foundation, in association with the Roundabout Theatre Company, presents the annual honor, which recognizes excellence in musical theatre songwriting for those who have not not yet achieved significant commercial success. The prize includes a $60,000 award plus a one-night showcase of the winner's work produced by the Foundation.

Named in honor of the late, Tony-winning lyricist (Chicago, Cabaret), the awards will be presented by six-time Tony winner Audra McDonald November 30 at 7 PM ET in a virtual ceremony, available to watch at