2023 Primetime Emmy Winners

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2024

The 75th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards were announced on Monday, January 15th, recognizing the best in American Primetime television programming from June 1, 2022, until May 31, 2023, as chosen by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. 

Congratulations to the Tisch alumni who won a 2023 Primetime Emmy Award! This year, 6 alumni received 6 awards for their work on 5 projects. Earlier in the week on January 6 and 7, The Creative Arts Emmys were announced, recognizing 7 Tisch alumni for their work. See the list of Tisch winners below, and the full list of 2023 Emmy winners here.

Outstanding Comedy Series

The Bear
Ayo Edebiri ’17 (BFA, Goldberg Department of Dramatic Writing) Co-Executive Producer

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series

The Bear
Ayo Edebiri '17 (BFA, Goldberg Department of Dramatic Writing) as Sydney Adamu

Outstanding Scripted Variety Series

Last Week Tonight With John Oliver
Jeremy Tchaban '03 (BFA, Kanbar Institute, Film & TV) Supervising Producer/Co-Executive Producer

Outstanding Talk Series

The Daily Show With Trevor Noah
Lindsay Crystal '99 (BFA, Kanbar Institute, Film & TV), Producer
Carmen Angelica '10 (BFA, Kanbar Institute, Film & TV), Producer

Outstanding Limited Or Anthology Series

Ravi Nandan '99 (BFA, Kanbar Institute, Film & TV) Executive Producer

Outstanding Drama Series

Susan Soon He Stanton '03 (BFA, Goldberg Department of Dramatic Writing), Supervising Producer/Co-Producer


Creative Arts Emmys 2023


Outstanding Short Form Nonfiction Or Reality Series

Succession: Controlling The Narrative
Chris Grasso '05 (BFA, Kanbar Institute, Film & TV), Executive Producer

Outstanding Sound Editing For A Nonfiction Or Reality Program (Single Or Multi-Camera)

Moonage Daydream
Brett Morgen '99 (MFA, Kanbar Institute, Grad Film), Music Editor

Outstanding Technical Direction and Camerawork For A Special

Elton John Live: Farewell From Dodger Stadium
Shaun Harkins '81 (BFA, Kanbar Institute, Film & TV), Camera

Outstanding Production Design For A Narrative Program (Half-Hour)

Only Murders In The Building • Sparring Partners • I Know Who Did It
Patrick Howe '84 (MFA) Production Designer
Jordan Jacobs '91 (BFA, Drama)/ '96 (MFA, Design for Stage & Film), Art Director
Rich Murray '04 (MFA, Design for Stage & Film), Set Decorator

Outstanding Picture Editing For A Single-Camera Comedy Series

The Bear
Joanna Naugle '11 (BFA, Kanbar Institute, Film & TV)


*We apologize for any errors or omissions. Please send edits or additions to tsoa.alumni@nyu.edu.