2022 Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre

Tuesday, May 10, 2022

The Tony Awards Administration Committee has announced that they will present the 2022 Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre to five outstanding contributors to the Broadway industry. Congratulations to the Tisch alumni recognized this year!

“All five of this year’s honorees have made outstanding contributions to our Broadway community,” said Charlotte St. Martin, President of The Broadway League and Heather Hitchens, President and CEO of the American Theatre Wing. “Their dedication, commitment and support to the Arts is now more important than ever, and we are thrilled to shine a light on these organizations at this year’s Tony Honors.”

The Asian American Performers Action Coalition’s (AAPAC) mission is to expand the perception of Asian American performers in order to increase their access to and representation on New York City’s stages. For over a decade, AAPAC has been a leader in discussions and forums on diversity with artistic institutions and the Broadway community.

The AAPAC Steering Committee is comprised of: Angel Desai ’97 (MFA, Grad Acting), Peter Kim ’97 (BFA, Drama), Julienne Hanzelka Kim ’05 (MFA, Grad Acting), Faculty, Grad Film, Kenneth Lee ’97 (BFA, Drama), & Lipica Shah ’08 (BFA, Drama).

Feinstein’s/54 Below was founded as a place for the community to celebrate Broadway performers, both established and new, who sing not only the music of Broadway and the Great American Songbook, but also new material intended for Broadway and off-Broadway stages. Unique in its mission, it has become an indispensable member of the Broadway ecosystem, providing a place for seasoned and emerging artists to hone their craft, try out new work, grow their fanbases, and gather as a community. The management team includes Creative and Programming Director Jennifer Ashley Tepper ’08 (BFA, Goldberg Department of Dramatic Writing).


*We apologize for any omissions! Please send edits or additions to tsoa.alumni@nyu.edu.