Salute is an affectionate farewell tribute from the faculty and staff of the Tisch School of the Arts to the graduating class.

NYU Tisch School of the Arts celebrated the remarkable achievements of the Class of 2020 in a virual ceremony made necessary by difficult and extraordinary times. Once it is again possible, we will joyfully host an in-person celebration for the Class of 2020.

A Virtual Salute to the Class of 2020 premiered via livestream on May 21.

Watch Highlights from the show

The Program

cLive Pre-Show Set
“Inside Out” by Marco Varisco
“Visitor” by Olivia Reid
“Inspiration” by Dana McCoy and Victoria Quartararo

“New York New York”
A short film by Spike Lee

NYU Pipes & Drums
Pipes: James Felder, Brian Meagher
Snare: James Flynn
Bass: John Henderson
Video: Steven Kreager

Remarks from Dean Allyson Green
Dean, Tisch School of the Arts

“Upside Down (excerpt)”
Choreography: Ronald K. Brown
Original Music by: Wunmi
Original Costumes: Omotayo Wunmi Olaiya
Costume re-creation: The NYU Design Department Costume Shop
Original Lighting by: Brenda Gray
Lighting re-creation: Bailey Costa
Re-staging: Arcell Cabuag
Performers: Imani Rose Arnett, Rafael V. Cañals Pérez, Austin Coats, Sarai Daniels, Savannah Gaillard, Sarina Gonzalez, Israel Harris, Troy Kelley, Taína Irma Lyons, Elexia Martinez, Michael Miles, Moeka Minami, Imani Monét, Ida María Obediente, Daniel Padierna, Oriana Serena Siphanoum, Taylor Stansfield
NYU Tisch Rehearsal Assistant: Riana Caitlin Pellicane-Hart

Remarks from Ward Kamel
2020 Student Speaker
Undergraduate Film & Television

Remarks from Robert Cameron
Senior Associate Dean, Student Affairs, Tisch School of the Arts

“Go Ahead”
Music and Lyrics: Lisette Glodowski and Richard C. Walter
Performers: Max Gonzalez, Tiana Jung, Jess Kantorowitz, Joshua Kukafka, Alexandria Loucks, Alexandria Lugo, Stephen Mellen, Diego Pacheco, Jazmin Palmer, Julia Pasko, Sara Rhuda, Annika Stenstedt, Daniel Thimm, Samantha Tullie, Pucun (Ben) Wang, Emma Yaniger
Audio Producer and Arrangement: Domenico Randazzo
Video: Kyra Williams

Remarks from Tisch Alumni
Billy Crystal, ’70 (BFA, Kanbar Institute, Film & TV), Hon. ’16 (DFA), Dean’s Council
Sterling K Brown, ’01 (MFA, Grad Acting)
Molly Shannon, ’87 Tisch (BFA, Drama)
Danny Pino, ’00 (MFA, Grad Acting)
Michael C. Hall, ’96 (MFA, Grad Acting)
Elizabeth Olsen, ’13 (BFA, Drama)
Chris Columbus, ’80 (BFA, Kanbar Institute, Film & TV), Dean’s Council
Debra Messing, ’93 (MFA, Grad Acting)
Robert DeNiro, Hon. ’96 (DFA)
Alec Baldwin, ’94 (BFA, Drama), Hon. ’10 (DFA), Dean’s Council
Chandra Wilson, ’91 (BFA, Drama)

Remarks from Fred Carl
Co-Associate Dean of Faculty, Tisch School of the Arts
honoring James Martin, recipient of the 2020 David Payne-Carter Award
and Maggie Raywood, recipient of the 2020 Distinguished Teaching Award

Remarks from Department Chairs & Nominated Student Representatives

Ezra Sacks & Natalie Harris
Department of Undergraduate Film & Television

Barbara Schock & Kristian King
Graduate Film Program

Anna McCarthy & Arman Khoshneviss
Department of Cinema Studies

Dan O’Sullivan, Andri Kumar, & Gabriella Garcia
Interactive Telecommunications Program & Interactive Media Arts Program

Terry Curtis Fox & Melba Silwany
Rita & Burton Goldberg Department of Dramatic Writing

Deb Willis & Katie McGowan
Department of Photography & Imaging

Mark Wing-Davey & Jay Myers
Graduate Acting Program

Seán Curran & Michael Miles
Department of Dance

Susan Hilferty & Heather Freedman
Department of Design for Stage & Film

André Lepecki & Yaneirie Cristal Rondon
Department of Performance Studies

Rubén Polendo & Pablo Rubin
Department of Drama

Sarah Schlesinger & Sean Eads
Graduate Musical Theatre Writing Program

Kathy Engel & Ericka Jones-Craven
Department of Art & Public Policy

Jeff Rabhan & Olivia Reid
Clive Davis Institute of Recorded Music

Frank Lantz & Yuxin Gao
NYU Game Center at Tisch

Remarks from Andrew Hamilton
President, New York University

Music: “The Greatest Love of All” by Michael Masser and Linda Creed, “With A Little Help From My Friends” by Paul McCartney
Arrangement: Jeff Peretz
Performed by Dana McCoy, Madeline Boreham, and Victoria Quartararo
Dance contributions by Tisch Dance Second Avenue Dance Company Class of 2020
Audio Producer: Domenico Randazzo
Video: Noah Simon

DJ Set by Blu DeTiger & Traditional Tisch Salute Name Scroll
The name scroll is organized by department with graduates in alphabetical order by first name, updated as of 5/11/2020