Dance Prix de New York

Dance Prix de New York

A unique and amazing first-time gathering of luminaries in both the contemporary and classical-ballet worlds chaired by Sean Curran (Contemporary Track) and Jolinda Menendez (Classical Track)

Competitors receive daily master classes, panel discussions, coaching and performance opportunities. Judges representing major schools and companies will be recognizing talent and potential in both tracks and will observe both performances and class to seek talent for their organization’s school or company with scholarships and contracts.

Contemporary Judges and Teachers include: Jacqulyn Buglisi, Buglisi Dance Theatre; Richard Chen See, Taylor School and Paul Taylor Dance Foundation; Elizabeth Coker , NYU/Tisch; Colin Connor, Jose Limon Dance Foundation; Evan Copeland, Seán Curran Company; Seán Curran, Seán Curran Company; Doug Elkins, Doug Elkins Choreography; Lakey Evans-Peña, The Ailey School; Giada Ferrone, NYU/Tisch; Kristen Foote, Limón Dance Company; Ben Freedman, Seán Curran Company, Larry Keigwin – Keigwin + Company; Phyllis Lamhut, NYU/Tisch; Jessica Lang, Choreographer; Heidi Latsky. Heidi Latsky Dance; Jordan Demetrius Lloyd, David Dorfman Dance; Diane Madden, Trisha Brown Dance Company; Jeremy Nelson, NYU/Tisch; Annique Roberts, Evidence, A Dance Company; and Christina Robson, Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Company.

Classical Track Judges and Teachers include: Karin Averty, International Master Teacher; Maxim Beloserkovsky, International Guest Artist; Seán Curran, NYU/Tisch; Irina Dvorovenko International Guest Artist; Franco De Vita, ABT National Training Curriculum Associate Emeritus; Edward Ellison, Ellison Ballet; Megan Fairchild, New York City Ballet; Erica Fischbach, Colorado Ballet Academy; Cynthia Harvey, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis School of Ballet & ABT Studio Company; Susan Jaffe, University of North Carolina School of the Arts; Julie Kent, Washington Ballet; Hae Shik Kim, Korea National University of the Arts; Jessica Lang, Choreographer; Raymond Lukens, National Training Curriculum Associate Emeritus; Tadeusz Matacz, John Cranko Schule; Melanie Person, Ailey School; William Piner, Austin Ballet; Sharon Story, Atlanta Ballet; Laurel Toto, Canada’s National Ballet School; and Michele Wiles, Ballet Next; Daniel Ulbricht (New York City Ballet); Martine Van Hamel, Kaatsbaan International Dance Center; and Pennsylvania Ballet.

Panel discussions are moderated by John Meehan (Classical Track and Wendy Perron (Contemporary Track). Panels and presentations include Paul Taylor Tribute (Richard Chen See), Choreography (Jessica Lang, Troy Schumacher and TBA), Styles and Techniques of Classical Dance (Alban Lendorf, Raymond Lukens and TBS), Contemporary Choreography (Jacqulyn Buglisi, Seán Curran, Colin Connor and Larry Keigwin), Classical Teachers (Irina Dvorovenko, Megan Fairchild and Daniel Ulbricht), Health and Wellness (Julie Daugherty, American Ballet Theatre) as well as Q&A panels with early round and finals judges in each track.

The event is open to participation by competitors including Tisch Dance Students within the age ranges of each track (Contemporary Track age 16 to 25 and Classical Track age 11 to 21). Competitors must pre-qualify to attend the event – rules and regulations are at

To volunteer, please email Jolinda Menendez